Stacy Lewis Named Sportswoman of the Year Award Finalist

Stacy Lewis
Photo Credit: Dave Sandford/Getty Images

Stacy Lewis of United States hits her tee shot on the 17th tee during the first round of the LPGA Canadian Pacific Women's Open at the London Hunt and Country Club on August 21, 2014 in London, Ontario, Canada.

Vote for Your Favorite 2014 Sportswoman of the Year

Anderson, Davis, Moore and Whitmore Among Finalists for Women’s Sports Foundation Athlete Honor This October

NEW YORK, N.Y. (August 25, 2014) – The Women's Sports Foundation’s 35th Annual Salute to Women in Sports will celebrate the incredible achievements of the top female athletes and leaders in sport on Wednesday, October 15, 2014 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. Star athletes, corporate and industry leaders, sports organizations, celebrities and journalists will come together for the Foundation’s annual fundraising gala for the unveiling of the 2014 award winners. The 35th Annual Salute will be hosted by journalist and sportscaster Mary Carillo. 

A remarkable group of elite athlete finalists, representing 21 sports, is vying for the evening’s top honors – Sportswoman of the Year – in Individual and Team categories. The finalists on the 2014 Sportswoman of the Year Award ballot have distinguished themselves from the field by their record-breaking, historic, and simply amazing athletic performances between August 1, 2013 and July 31, 2014. 

Nominations for the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Sportswoman of the Year awards – Individual and Team – are made by sport governing bodies and the public, and the 2014 ballot is nothing short of extraordinary. Athlete finalists will be voted on by the Foundation’s Awards Committee and the public beginning on August 25, 2014 through 11:59 p.m. ET on September 8, 2014. 

Sportswoman of the Year honorees will be announced during the 35th Annual Salute to Women in Sports awards gala, as well as this year’s recipients of the Billie Jean King Contribution Award and Wilma Rudolph Courage Award

Be a part of history and cast your vote for the Sportswoman of the Year awards online at or

2014 Finalists for Sportswoman of the Year 

Individual Sport 
  • Jamie Anderson, Snowboarding 
  • Simone Biles, Gymnastics 
  • Marie Bochet, Paralympic Alpine Skiing 
  • Darya Domracheva, Biathlon 
  • Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Track and Field 
  • Katinka Hosszu, Swimming 
  • Stacy Lewis, Golf 
  • Tina Maze, Alpine Skiing 
  • Jamie Whitmore, Paralympic Cycling 
  • Serena Williams, Tennis 
  • Ireen Wust, Speed Skating 

Team Sport 
  • Nadine Angerer, Soccer 
  • Valerie Arioto, Softball 
  • Meryl Davis, Figure Skating 
  • Annika Dries, Water polo 
  • Alisha Glass, Volleyball 
  • Kaillie Humpries and Heather Moyse, Bobsled 
  • Jennifer Jones, Curling 
  • Maya Moore, Basketball 
  • April Ross and Kerri Walsh-Jennings, Beach Volleyball 
  • Florence Schelling, Ice Hockey 

Past Sportswoman of the Year recipients include: (Individual) Missy Franklin, Swimming; Gabby Douglas, Gymnastics; Yani Tseng, Golf; Yuna Kim, Figure skating; Erin Popovich, Paralympic Swimming; Martina Navratilova, Tennis, and Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Track & Field; (Team) Candace Parker, Basketball; Alex Morgan, Soccer; Abby Wambach, Soccer; Jessica Mendoza, Softball; Misty May & Kerri Walsh, Beach Volleyball; Lisa Leslie, Basketball, and Serena & Venus Williams, Tennis. 

For more information on how to purchase a gala table or tickets, please contact Shari Levitz at or 

Topics: Lewis, Stacy